Pens

Pens are terrifying. Out of all the materials I’ve used, pencils, charcoal, paint, pastels, clay, yarn, etc., pens and markers are the least malleable. Once a mark has been made with a pen, it’s there. The lines they make are bold and unmoving, and every mistake seems to pop out at me. When I was younger I wouldn’t even doodle with them in the margins of my notebooks. I preferred to use pencils even when writing, because not even Wite-Out could completely obscure spelling mistakes, because the Wite-Out itself is a clear indication that something is wrong, and it’s probably that you can’t spell “Wednesday” right on the first try. But I’m trying to get more confident in my art. To use black paint and bright ink, and to hell with being intimidated by something as silly as art supplies.

Leave a Reply

