Senior Year

It’s the second week of my new courses, and I’m tired. I fall into the same habits with each new semester, walking around with my left arm covered in equations, snapping at people, and losing time to Tumblr. It’s senior year burnout. Today I asked a barista for a “tall grande iced vanilla latte” because even I don’t listen when I talk anymore. I’m experiencing a kind of exhaustion that isn’t linked to lack of sleep. I used to be a “stay up ’till four perfecting that research paper” kind of student, but not anymore. I go to bed at ten no matter what deadlines are coming up. But that only goes so far. A sort of “screw this” attitude has permeated my soul. Speaking of, it’s ten.

Leave a Reply

