The Donkey Story. For My Friend. I Hope It Makes Her Laugh.

Once when I was three years old, I was in the car with my mom and sister. On a whim, they (meaning probably my sister) asked me to tell them a story. This, with no embellishment, is the donkey story, as told by a three-year-old me.

“Once there was a donkey. A little donkey. He didn’t think he would ever be a big donkey. One night he grew seven feet in his sleep. He tried to jump on his bed, but he was too tall now. He went to his house because he was hungry, but he didn’t fit. Because he grew seven feet in his sleep. So he jumped up on his roof. He jumped and jumped and jumped and jumped and jumped and jumped and jumped and jumped. He make a big hole in the roof. Then he jumped on his refrigerator.”

Masterpiece.

The Donkey may have been a kangaroo. But there’s no way of knowing.

Leave a Reply

