Third Time’s The Charm. Or I Throw It Out.

There’s a dress form in the corner sporting a dress I do not like. It’s the first dress I’ve ever made, and you can tell. It’s all wrong. The proportions are off, the skirt hangs awkwardly, and I can’t begin to explain what’s happening with the sleeves.

So I’m unraveling it and starting over for the third time. It’s a lot of work, but I think I’d regret it if I didn’t fix it’s issues. I spent a lot of money on yarn, and a lot of time making it. I’d like to actually wear it, and I know that as it is, I won’t. Besides, I’ve been thinking about it so much, that I think this final time, I could actually get it right. So much of my knitting is nothing more than trial and error. This time I would make the top shorter, get rid of the unnecessary increases under the armpits, get rid of the fullness in the skirt (because honestly, with the yarn I chose, who was I kidding making a full skirt?), make the skirt pattern match up in the back, make the straps wider and make it purposefully sleeveless, and make the bottom look more finished. I have a lot of work cut out for me.
Leave a Reply

