Defending Gotham With Four Batmen and Two Giant Monkeys

The little boy I babysat today is just the most fun. If I were twelve years younger, we might have been BEST friends. If his mom knew how much fun I actually had with him, she probably wouldn’t pay me. The two of them (he has an older brother that was at school today) play like my sister and I did when we were little. They concoct wild scenarios and make up games. When he makes a statement like, ‘This is a friendly giant monkey, here to help. He lives over there.’ it’s like a switch flips in my brain and before I know it, I’ve accepted this fact. And not only that, but I have a backstory. Friendly giant monkey is the cousin of mean giant monkey (who showed up earlier to attack Batman and free the Joker from the cell in his own lair) as well as his rival. Yes, he does live over there. ‘There’ is Basket-ville, home of the giant flying monkeys. The previous generation came to this town to escape the witch (because I can’t separate flying monkeys and The Wizard of Oz. It can’t be done. Even if these are giant flying wingless monkeys.) not knowing that is was close to Gotham, and not the safe haven they thought. So now, they are forced to take sides. Live a life of crime? Or ally with Batman? Most of this is just for my benefit. What I actually say is something like, ‘You’re just in time! The Joker escaped! The other Joker is with him. You go that way and I’ll go this way. Hurry! We can still catch them!’ said as the plastic Batman I was holding, obviously. It’s not a typo, I did say ‘the other Joker’. The funny thing about playing with him, is that he has these big Batman themed sets, with a bat cave and the Joker’s lair. And so in total he has two Jokers, four Batmen (Batmans?), and the Riddler. It leads to some interesting developments. My favorite was when two bear-blanket things (A.K.A giant monkeys) gave chase to two Jokers.

It was a pretty good day.
Leave a Reply

