Draft Box Week 8/15/12

It’s been a while since I’ve posted a substantial post, as evidenced by my insane draft box, so this week will be draft box week. This week also starts with a Wednesday, so we’ll just have to make it work. So, this first story starts with a trip to Ireland my dad and I are planning to go on after I graduate. We’ve got plenty of time to plan since I’m just a Junior right now, so I thought I’d make the most of the time and take a few horse back riding lessons so we can ride when we’re in Ireland.

8/11/12
Dressage For the New Age/The Horse and I Are Two

I went shopping with my grandmother earlier this afternoon, and long story short, now I have jodhpurs. They’re surprisingly comfortable, but still not really an item of clothing I ever thought I’d own. My dad recently told my paternal grandmother, Mimi, about my taking horseback riding lessons. I think there might have been a misunderstanding, because this is what he said:

But I think this is what she heard:

My dads family are big horse lovers, and my grandmother and aunt have been wanting me to ride horses since I was little, so I probably shouldn’t be surprised at their reaction, but I do feel a little bad. I haven’t had the heart to tell them I’m just learning as an excuse to hang out with my dad, not because of any affinity for horses. They’ve always thought I was a little odd, so it’s like this is the first confirmation that I might be normal, and that we are actually related. Mimi took me shopping as soon as she heard. She can be a little hard to shop with at times. In this case, she knew the people that work there, and talked for ages about all the little details, when I’m more inclined to a more decisive style of shopping; ‘those boots, this helmet. Let’s go have lunch’. I ended up with a helmet, boots, and two pairs of jodhpurs, and after we left she commented, “Well, we didn’t get much. But it’ll do for now.” without a hint of sarcasm. After lunch she gave me a present from my Aunt Courtney. It was a heartfelt letter about how happy she was that I have discovered the joy of horses and a book called ‘Dressage for the New Age’. I’m not making that up. Here’s proof:

Apparently dressage is not a horse fashion show. Who knew? Anyway, this book is pretty hard to take seriously. I tried to read it, but couldn’t get past the inside cover. The description reads; “Lightness and harmony between horse and rider are the touchstones of the French approach to dressage.”

It’s really not my thing. I think I’d be happier if the horse and I stay as two.

Leave a Reply

