Technology Frustrations and Behavioral Oddities

Apple psuedo-recently came out with iCloud. I’m an Apple fangirl, so I switched over the first day. I really like it, but photo stream has me a little weirded out. I’m sot sure if it’s buggy, or if I’m just an idiot. I can’t get it to work. I took some pictures for yesterdays blog on my iPhone. But I couldn’t figure out how to transfer them to my computer. Photo Stream is turned on on all my devices, but it only seems to transfer my photos to my iPhone from my computer, but not to my computer from my iPhone. So it’s completely useless. That wouldn’t be a problem, but I can’t just let it go. I’m going to be trying to figure it out for weeks. I guess I can’t say no to a project. 
Segue!

My sister had a day off from school today, so we went to the mall. Going to the mall with my sister on a school day is a rare luxury. It’s something we used to do a lot when we were in high school and had nothing but free time, but now college and work keep us too busy. We wandered through our favorite shops talking about our lives, comparing notes for the first time in what feels like forever. And we realized something. For two people that, up until now, have pretty much lived the same life, people react to us very differently. My sister has sort of a ‘fawn in a meadow’ affect on people. She looks younger that she is, and despite being a very capable person, has an innocent and somewhat clueless look. People frequently apologize to her for cussing. Not cussing at her, because apparently no one has cussed at her in her entire life, just cussing in general. Her boss used to apologize to her ‘on the behalf of the office’. When she walks into a room where the conversation is remotely crude, everyone shuts up. And, according to her, strangers have referred to her as ‘adorable’. For me, this is unheard of and hilarious special treatment. I’m not sure what message I give off but it’s probably ‘I don’t give a crap’ or something equally lovely. Because despite being the younger sister and having the stupidly huge eyes of a disney character, no one has ever apologized for cussing in front of me. People unashamedly cuss at me. Especially at my waitressing job. Incidentally, the job my sister had before me. People include me in their crude conversations, despite my having nothing to contribute. 

Despite the polar opposite reactions we get, the occasional stranger will still think we’re twins. People are weird.
Leave a Reply

