Huh.

I forgot I had this blog. I don’t really knit much unless it’s winter. It’s sort of a seasonal blog. Any-who, I’m knitting a sweater:NOV. 20, 2011

I’m terrible at deadlines. Really terrible. But despite my better judgment, I started a sweater on Friday. And I’m trying to finish it before Thanksgiving. This Thanksgiving. I’ve only knit one other sweater in my life and it turned out horrible. So obviously, I had to try again, but without a pattern. It’s going surprisingly well considering.

This is the pre-sweater in question, modeled by my moms mannequin that I have dubbed ‘Janet’. There have been a few set-backs. It’s eating up yarn like Cookie Monster would eat a particularly delicious chocolate chip cookie and the decreases aren’t symmetrical. If it turns out well, the yarn expense will be worth it, but the seams are making me worry.

The gap in the ribbed bottom is not a style choice. I’ll be closing it up soon.

I just hope that it’s not as noticeable as I think it is. Maybe I’ve been staring at it for too long.

NOV 22, 2011

Thanksgiving is in two days, and things aren’t looking great. I had a few problems with the neckline, and it still isn’t finished. The decreasing is done, but I still need to make the ribbed border.

 I might not even have enough yarn. I’m almost at the end of the fifth skein, and there’s only one more left. I may need to sacrifice sleeve length. That is, if I can figure out how to do the sleeves. This is the first sleeve, second try:
It’s eating up more yarn than I’d like, and the cable pattern is a little off, because of the increases. The rest of the sweater though, is coming together pretty well.
I need to fix the gap in the bottom, and a small one it the armpit of the same side, but that’s pretty simple. My other concern is the kitcheners stitch holding together the shoulder. It’s pretty messy. It’s towards the back, so maybe my hair will cover it? I’ve already done it twice, and that’s probably as good as it will get.

NOV. 28, 2011

Well my Thanksgiving deadline has passed. Unfortunately Janet is still sporting an unfinished sweater. It has been demoted from ‘Important Project’ to ‘I’ll finish it whenever’, a fate that some projects never recover from. Fortunately, I got pretty far before the deadline expired.

All I have to do is finish the sleeve, knit a second one, and finish off the neckline. It’s the work of a day or two, but for now it’ll have to wait. Christmas break doesn’t start until the 17th, so school is priority #1, followed closely by the almost finished scarf I’m knitting for a family friend. It’s a paying job so I’m feeling guilty for not having finished it yet, but it’s kind of a pain. It’s long, thick and I can only knit it in bursts, because the yarn combined with the thick gauge makes my hands sweat. I want this scarf to stay pristine. To top it off he wants me to sew ‘my tag’ into it, so he can show it off as one of my originals. It’s a really sweet thought, but still, it’s taking time away from the scarf. Which is taking time away from school. Which is taking time away from buying gifts. Which is taking time away from making a tag. Which is taking time away from knitting the scarf. Do you see my problem here?

My judgmental nutcrackers are not helping.

But the ancient and shiny tree has been very helpful.

 

Leave a Reply

