Driving, Drawing, Cooking…

     If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you’ll know that every now and then, I’ll take out my comically large art pad and attempt to draw something, hoping I’ll wake up one day and magically know how to affectively shade. This hasn’t happened yet, but I keep on trying. Practice makes perfect, or so I’ve heard. So, here’s one more effort for the files:

If you can’t tell (and I don’t blame you) this is a Porshe Boxter, A.K.A the cutest car ever. The shading actually isn’t terrible. Of course, I cheated and used a picture as reference, but I think it’s a step in the right direction. The reason I’m drawing cars, is that I start driving school next week. I drew this for the cover of my note taking notebook, A.K.A., my sister’s old driving school notebook, for a little driving related motivation, so I don’t die of boredom sitting in a classroom all day full of other bored people being shown disgusting/sad pictures of dead teenagers that died in a fiery crash, and being lectured on car safety and such. It’s worth a shot. But don’t take this the wrong way, I’m kind of looking forward to it. It signifies a rite of passage. Besides, these classes will help me be a safer driver in the long run, even though the immediate side effects contain copious amounts of boredom and possibly mild drooling.
I’ll start driving school Monday. It’s only a partial week, Mon-Thu, which is good, even though I’ll have to be there from eight o’clock to four o’clock each day. The week after that, I’ll start something much more fun; cooking class. I’ve been looking forward to this for a while. It’s a pretty cool idea. It’s a five day class with a theme of sorts for each day. Day one is Asian themed, and we’ll be making spring rolls, shrimp curry, jasmine rice, chinese broccoli, stir-fried chicken with noodles, and coconut tapioca pudding. Day two is Spain, three is Italy, and so on. All in all it’s a lot of food. But I’m really excited about it! All I can cook now are brownies and chicken. Well, unless you count toast, eggs, sandwiches, etc. which I don’t. But I’ve always enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

