I’m Back, and I Brought a Hat. Sort of.

I’m sorry I’ve been gone so long, but I haven’t really had a reason to post before now. My last actual knitting post was in October, and since then I’ve only made a pair of fingerless gloves. Well, I also finished the last project I posted about, the green gloves, about two months ago, but I don’t have a recent picture. Sometime next week I’ll post a picture of them on my update blog. Anyway, I would have posted about my more recent gloves, but they were a Christmas present for my mom. However, they might just be one of my favorite projects yet, so I posed with them before I wrapped them:

They are my take on the ‘Holly and Poinsettia Mittens’ in the Winter 2008 edition of  ‘Interweave Knits’. The color work pattern I used involved more colors than I have ever worked with at the same time before, so some very colorful and complex knots were formed in the process, and I didn’t estimate the time it would take me very well, so my grandmother got a book, instead of something hand knit. But still, I think it was worth it. Besides my grandmother’s birthday is coming up in February, so I’m making some gloves to give to her then, but I haven’t gotten very far yet.
Another project I’ve started, is a beret with lines of beads highlighting the lacework. The pattern is very simple, and I’m just using black D.K. weight yarn, so I’m jazzing it up a little with colorful, textured beads. I like the idea of the beads, and it’s fun now that I’ve gotten to the fifth or sixth lacework row, but stringing the beads was a pain. So many beads! So naturally, I rolled the strung beads into a ball, and took a picture:
Then spelled out the word hi:
Because really, what else would you do with beads. Sarcasm doesn’t do very well in print. And I leave you with this:
Leave a Reply

