Journal Part 2

Hey guys! I’m back for a second Craft Monday. I’m still organizing my old journals, and I came across several chunks of torn out pages, due to over zealous page turning. So today, we will be making covers for journals, not just decorating them. And yes, we will be using fabric paint. I still haven’t shaken that addiction.

This chunk, is from 2004, the first year I really started to enjoy writing. I know it’s very blotchy and a little slanted, but eight-year-old me was pretty sloppy.

The covers are made in the same way, but there are several methods of binding the pages together. They all work well, it depends on what supplies you have. Here are three.

Tape Method
You will need:

  • Journal pages
  • Clear Tape
  • Construction paper
  • Fabric paint (optional. You could use markers, crayons, anything)
  • Bottle of glue

Once you have put the pages in order, get a piece of paper; construction, or plain. Fold it in half, and press down hard, making a good crease. Flip the first page over, and place it on the left of the crease, lining it up with the right edge, and tape it down, on the right edge only. Repeat this process until you run out of pages. Apply a long line of glue across the taped up end, center it in the crease of your cover, and let it dry.

Go crazy with the fabric glue, apply buttons, glitter, and just have fun with it. Here’s how mine turned out:

Staple Method
You will need:

  • Journal pages
  • Staples
  • Construction paper
  • Fabric paint (optional you could use anything)

Once you have put the pages in order, get a piece of paper; construction, or plain. Fold it in half, and press down hard, making a good crease. Take the first page, and flip over the last page, and tape them together. Do the same with the second page and the second to last page, and continue doing that, until you have used up all your pages, and have a stack, that once you fold in half, reads in order. Take a piece of paper; construction or regular, whichever you want for your cover, and trim it to to the size of your taped together journal pages. Line up your cover and journal, and staple a line down the center. Once you finish, fold it in half, and you have a journal to decorate however you would like.

Sewing Method
One time, when I was about five or six, I was sick, and my sister bound up about six or seven of the stories we wrote together, so I could read them. It was so sweet and it really did make me feel better. To make the books, she sewed the pages together. It blew my mind. She sewed paper. It’s actually very fun to do. But I can’t post it today. I have the pages and the cover, but with work and school, I didn’t have time to finish it. But I promise, you will have it tomorrow. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

