50 50 50 50….

That’s right! This is my fiftieth post. I can’t believe it. Yesterday’s post would have been my fiftieth, but last Saturday’s post never got published. I thought I hit the publish button, but instead, I hit the save button next to it, so it has been sitting in my draft box this whole time. Here it is:

I’m back from ice skating, with sore legs, cramped toes, and an odd frozen patch in my ponytail. It was one of my crummier lessons.

First of all, I lost the odds on the rental skates. It’s a coin toss really, half the skates are as dull as an office party, but there are some skates that still have actual blades in the mix. I got some good ones last time, but this time I think I got the worst ones yet. The laces were so knotted, I could barely lace them up and the blades were so dull, that the ice felt twice as slippery. That also meant I had to work twice as hard to stop, or get a good grip on the ice.

Also, my class had a new coach. I think I prefer coach John, he was less of a helicopter coach. The new coach is nice, but she tends to hover. I’d rather be shown what to do, then be left to my own devises.

But all that was manageable, I just had to relearn the swizzle with a coach staring at me, no big really. But what really made it crummy was that it was my friends last lesson, she’s going back to Thai land. We took a group picture at the end of the lesson, and that was it. I’m going to miss her. I won’t have anyone to talk to from now on. We are both on exactly the same level. We were the only two of our group that skate at the same speed. There are only two other members in the group, a middle aged man, that is over ambitious and tries to barrel down the rink like a bullet, but has more than his share of falls. There is also, his wife. Who moves like an inchworm. A very nice inchworm, but nonetheless, an inchworm.

It wasn’t all bad of course, skating is still fun and the little Cubbie on the other side of the rink is making progress, he finally stopped clinging to the wall, and began to really learn to skate, which is great, and I got to spend a little time with him afterwards and that was nice.

The ride home was uneventful, unless you count me sloshing lukewarm hot chocolate all over my sweater, which really isn’t worth counting. This has been the random writings of Leila. Thanks for tuning in!

And that brings me to today. It’s Saturday again, I woke up at eight, and I’m not really sure how I spent the first three hours of my day. I was in a sleepy haze, so I probably just walked around bugging my sister, until ten forty five, when dad drove me to ice skating lessons. When we got there, it turned out that there wasn’t a class today. So, we went to the quick trip instead.

When we got home, my sister’s friend was gone, so Vee and I went on a walk. We just circled our neighborhood, to enjoy the day and scope out halloween decorations. I will never understand why people want to put that junk in their yards. I like Halloween as much as the next guy, but I file it with Valentines day. It’s just a fun way to get chocolate. I see no reason to celebrate it by putting a giant blow-up black cat that cocks it’s head to stare at people, in your front yard, next to a plastic corpse rising from a grave. In fact, it’s kind of icky. This has been the random ramblings of Leila, Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

