My Week, in Ten Very Small Paragraphs

I haven’t posted in a while so let me catch you up. Last time I posted was two Wednesdays ago. The topic was Cubbies, so let’s start from there. I call this next segment:

Kids say the cutest things!

As the title suggests, this is a collection of cute things Cubbies have said.

Leader: Does anyone have a question about the story I just read?
Three year old girl: My brother, my brother broke the fan. Not my baby brother my big brother.
Leader: I know your brother, and I’m sure he will brake many more things, but we need to concentrate on the story right now.

Four year old girl: (On the playground) Do you want some ice cream? I have every flavor.
Me: I would love some ice cream. Do you have mint chocolate chip?
Four year old girl: Yes. I have every flavor. (Walks away then comes back with a wood chip). Here you go, this is chocolate I know it’s what you really wanted.

A leader is reading a story and a three year old boy is sitting in my lap.
Three year old boy: How does your bracelet work?
Me: Listen please.
Three year old boy: But I REALLY want to know!
Me: I will show you after the story if you sit still and listen.
Three year old boy: Okay.

I could go on and on but it would take far too long. Always going home smelling like wet wipes and animal crackers, the occasional screaming fit, and the ever-present sick kid aside, being a Cubbies leader has been very fun. During book time the kids in my group have been saying their verses well, although there is a little girl who is special needs in my group and can’t, but she’s so sweet and I know she would say them if she could. And in general things have been going as smoothly as can be expected when you have such a large group of three and four year olds in a room together. I have had several run ins with a particular little boy. He is an only child and believes himself to be above all rules. He seems to have singled me out as a punching bag and someone to defy. I have been mastering ‘the look’. ‘The look’ is something that is perfect for this occasion. If you do it right is says “kid don’t mess with me because I am a force to be reckoned with so you’d better sit down and shut up” but with love. As you can see, it’s no simple feat. But I think I’m making a little progress.

Nothing else of much importance happened this week. I’ve been knitting a scarf for Etsy and Mandarin has gotten more difficult. Oh and Yesterday I went with my family to see the Salvador Dali exhibit at the High museum.

It was quite a thing to see. I really enjoy the works of surrealists. Although I don’t know if he can really be considered a surrealist because of his Catholic paintings, but his paintings sure look surreal to me.  I think his mustache is enough to make him surreal. He either had superior intellect or was just really eccentric, either way he seems fun.

The most exciting thing that happened today was….. wait for it…… My diploma came! It took forever but I finally have proof that I graduated from High School! It even came with a tassel! I don’t know why but that just makes it so much more awesome! No hat that looks like it was run over by a truck though. It’s too bad, there goes my only excuse for wearing a graduation hat. Oh, well. There’s still College graduation. This has been the random writings of Leila. Thanks for tuning in!

Leave a Reply

